top of page

Red Line Subway (Minimum Operating Segments 1, 2, 3)



The Red Line was the first subway line servicing Los Angeles County that connects Downtown Los Angeles (Union Station), Hollywood, and North Hollywood (NBC Universal). The Red Line, which is one of six lines forming the Metro Rail rapid transit system opened in phases between 1993 and 2000. Together with the Purple Line, these two heavy rail lines combine to form L.A. Metro Rail’s busiest line. Today, combined, both the Red and Purple lines average close to 180,000 boardings per weekday.  The Red Line subway system consists of twin tunnels lined with concrete segments excavated using Tunnel Boring Machine (“TBM”) and Earth Pressure Machine (“EPM”) excavation systems.


DLCE took a major role in the design of stations along with utility relocation and roadway reconstruction.

Photograph of construction on the Red Line Subway line tunnel
bottom of page